Our Word :: Week 4 Day 4 :: {sex}

Image

I.
I let you cheat me
out of the hard blue power
of my inner star.

II.
My need was narrow,
transparent sacrament, your
claustrophobic touch.

III.
Dead on arrival,
delicate road to battle.
Unwrap this silk shroud.

IV.
I paint my feet with
rebellion, let you inside.
Curiosity.

V.
The work it took to
let you love me rubbed like sand.
Farewell, young madness.

VI.
This tiger ate your
poison apple, good-bye
delicious forest.

VII.
Summer skin shadow,
these collections of atoms
burn this slope of knee.

VIII.
Wild bees in July
between the hot muscle of
a thigh made of bliss.

IX.
That old drug habit
of seeking mystic stones in
the bloom of your palm.

X.
Under sweet rain, I
wander with Greek strangers, it’s
true you can be danger.

XI.
Your naked candle
burns wishes to ash atop
your dry moss blanket.

XII.
A fish in crimson
waters, tease the thunder from
me. The dove died here.

XIII.
Don’t linger in the
yes. Swallow the whole petal,
the written word “go.”

XIV.
Soft peony tucked
in the shell of your hands, kiss
down this swell of storm.

XV.
I cut off my wing
to punish my face. I can’t
control the sharp edges.

XVI.
You sink in the sea
of my ugly words. I sink
under floes of fire.

XVII.
My mountain is claimed.
Your blood on my paper tongue,
sacrificed summer.

XIV
XIV